New Year’s Resolutions


Shel Silverstein summed up his advice for young writers in a poem in his book, Where the Sidewalk Ends . The poem is titled “Melinda Mae”Melinda Mae before whale

Have you heard of tiny Melinda Mae,
Who ate a monstrous whale?
She thought she could,
She said she would,
So she started in right at the tail.

And everyone said,’You’re much too small,’
But that didn’t bother Melinda at all,
She took little bites and she shewed very slow,
Just like a little girl should…

…and eighty-nine years later she ate that whale
Because she said she would!!!

 My  interpretation of this poem is that one should never give up.  Life is a long journey and it might take you eighty-nine years to achieve your goals, but if you don’t give up you will get there.

I think it is excellent advice for young and old writers and for people in general who have a daunting goal they wish to attain.Melinda Mae after whale

One thing I haven’t done in a long time is make a New Year’s Resolution.  I always failed at them.  But by using the philosophy in this short poem, I now resolve that in 2014 I will meet all of my deadlines.  That includes posting to this blog every Monday, getting the PPW Newsletter out on time and making meetings and appointments without fail.  Finally, it means that all of my personal writing goals will HAVE deadlines and that I will strive toward meeting them.

It also means that I will have to push some of my fellow writers  a little harder, because some of my deadlines depend on them fulfilling their deadlines.

But if little Melinda Mae can eat a whole whale, then I can reach my goals too!

Comments Off on New Year’s Resolutions

Filed under Deadlines

Comments are closed.